Writing Process Blog Tour

Standard

Next stop is Lisbon, sitting in sunny Portugal with some of the most amazing food in the world. Most of the country is still experiencing summer, though we expect rain to start drizzling any time soon as fall settles in (along with hot cocoa). It’s friendly, it’s fun, and it’s one of the best places to be in all year around.

1. Introduce the author who passed the blog tour to you and link back to their blog.
The amazing Natasha Raulerson passed this onto me. I met Natasha through the In With the New contest hosted by Michelle Hauck, and during PitchWars we hung out on Skype sometimes – I even co-hosted Whiskey, Wine and Writing when her kick-ass co-host Tiffany couldn’t make it, and, like Natasha and Tiff, it was SO MUCH FUN!

2. What am I working on?
Currently, it’s a YA Fantasy named Mind Witch. The main character, Zéphyrine, can manipulate people’s thoughts and

Ubik was a big inspiration for Mind Witch

Ubik was a big inspiration for Mind Witch

memories (hence the title), and she was one of the leads in my previous project (Withering Spring). Mind Witch came from my first CP telling me Zéph was her favorite character and that she was sad Zéph’s story started out in media res. I didn’t plan on writing it, but one thing led to another and now it’s too much fun to stop.

3. How does my work differ from others in its genre?

Mind Witches/Psions are usually more of a sci-fi thing, so there’s that. I’m also telling the story from a more antagonistic perspective, and doing a play o the Chosen One trope by having the person who’s supposed to deliver the world from evil wanting to take it for herself rather than retiring from heroism – and no, it’s not the MC.

Iriae seems very sweet, but actually, she's insane.

Iriae seems very sweet, but actually, she’s insane.

Oh, and I’m illustrating it as well, so… that too?

4. Why do I write what I write?
I write Fantasy because, aside from being my favorite genre to read, I enjoy creating worlds that don’t have the same restrictions as ours – and because I love it.

5. How does my writing process work?
I often start novels with only a vague idea, either a scene that’s hounding my head and needs to be put into words before I forget, a theme I want to explore – those things. Then I start mulling it over and expand on it using a series of bullet points like “MC can control people, is sent to turn a country upside down”. I write a preliminary query, ask friends/CPs “Hey, is this something you’d read?” and then go for it.

6. Introduce the next author on the tour and link to their blog.
Next stop will be at Kyra Nelson‘s blog! Kyra interned for a literary agency, and I first came across her when she was offering query critiques (Mind Witch was #2!) and she gave me great pointers. Her blog is filled with useful writing advice for both queries and novels, not to mention the actual query crits she does are extremely useful and have information we can all take for our own query-ous nightmares!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Writing Process Blog Tour | Thoughts From the Agent Desk

Leave a Reply

